Victoria’s leading metropolitan and country jockeys will face off for Resimax Group Rapid Racing on Friday 21 January 2022.

Current score

Now in its third year, Resimax Group Rapid Racing features a short, punchy program with all races run on the famous Flemington straight course over distances ranging from 1000m to 1200m with 30 minute gaps between races.

The race card is highlighted by the Jockeys Challenge, a competition that will see the top fourteen riders in Victoria do battle over seven sprint races.

Each team is made up of the top seven jockeys on the Victorian country and metropolitan leader boards. Riders were determined by the premiership standings at the end of Monday 3 January.

Country team

Country team

The country team stars 33-time Group 1 winning rider Craig Newitt plus Patrick Moloney and fellow riders Will Gordon, Declan Bates, Jarrod Fry, Damien Thornton and Dean Holland.

Metro team

Metro team

Current Victorian premiership leader Jye McNeil headlines the metropolitan team alongside champion jockey Brett Prebble plus multiple Group 1 winners Damian Lane, Jamie Kah, Michael Dee and leading apprentices Matthew Cartwright and Josh Richards.

Everything you need to know 

  • The top seven riders that make up each team were determined by the premiership standings at the end of 3 January 2022.
  • The minimum weight in each race will be 57kg and apprentices are entitled to use their claim in all races.
  • The metropolitan team will carry even-numbered saddlecloths while the country team will partner with horses carrying odd-numbered saddlecloths.
  • Jockeys will wear the registered colours for each of their rides, however the two teams will be easily distinguished thanks to team colours that will be worn in the form of breeches and saddlecloths, with the metro team in purple, and the country team in red.
  • Points are awarded on a 4-3-2-1 basis, with the winner assigned four points, second place three points, third place two points and fourth place one point.
  • Each team will have two “Power Plays”. Each “Power Play” allows the team to choose a race that will carry double points should their riders finish in the top four. Double points do not apply for the opposing team unless that race has also been selected by their team to be a “Power Play” race. Each team must declare their two “Power Play” races before Race 1.
  • All seven riders in each team will be drawn a number 1 to 7 to determine the order of the horse they are allocated in each of the races, as detailed in the following table:
Country Jockey 1 1 3 5 7 9 11 NR
Country Jockey 2 3 5 7 9 11 NR 1
Country Jockey 3 5 7 9 11 NR 1 3
Country Jockey 4 7 9 11 NR 1 3 5
Country Jockey 5 9 11 NR 1 3 5 7
Country Jockey 6 11 NR 1 3 5 7 9
Country Jockey 7 NR 1 3 5 7 9 11
VIC METRO R1 R2 R3 R4 R5 R6 R7
Metro Jockey 1 2 4 6 8 10 12 NR
Metro Jockey 2 4 6 8 10 12 NR 2
Metro Jockey 3 6 8 10 12 NR 2 4
Metro Jockey 4 8 10 12 NR 2 4 6
Metro Jockey 5 10 12 NR 2 4 6 8
Metro Jockey 6 12 NR 2 4 6 8 10
Metro Jockey 7 NR 2 4 6 8 10 12


Back to race day