The history of the VRC St Leger

24 April 2023 Written by VRC

The St Leger at Flemington is older than the Melbourne Cup, first run by the Victoria Turf Club at Flemington in autumn 1857, two years after the first Victoria Derby. The rival Victoria Jockey Club took over the St Leger in 1858. The two clubs dissolved in 1864 to form the Victoria Racing Club, which has run the VRC St Leger annually ever since. We look back at the last five winners.

Did you know?

Thirteen VRC St Leger winners, including Phar Lap, have won a Melbourne Cup, the most recent being Gurner’s Lane in 1982. The race was switched from March to Anzac Day in 1972.